Come Take a Ride on My Starship!

Sorry for the radio silence lately. Things have been pretty bonkers with book promotion, and I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with this newsletter. But I wanted to drop you a quick line to let you know that it’s finally here: Victories Greater Than Death, my young adult space-fantasy epic, comes out on Tuesday!

Buzzfeed says, “This compulsive read perfectly captures teenage voices and feelings even as it travels from a normal teenage life on Earth to galactic battles.” Victories has been popping up on plenty of lists of the best YA books for April, as well as the best books of any type. Blue Willow Bookstore named Victories as their April YA Book Club pick. I also love this review in While Reading and Walking.

There’s still time for people in the USA to pre-order a copy and submit your receipt at Tor Teen to get a beautiful enamel pin—plus four gorgeous art prints if you order from an indie bookstore.

Some upcoming events:

Tomorrow (Sunday) morning at noon CT/10 AM PT, I will be at the San Antonio Book Festival, talking about Victories Greater Than Death with Clay Smith, literary director of the festival. Registration is free—RSVP here.

On Tuesday at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT is my book launch! I’m going to be talking to Holly Black, the wonderful author of the Folk of the Air trilogy, about Victories Greater Than Death and all things YA. You can RSVP for free, but you can also get a signed hardcover for 15 percent off — and you’ll receive a cool-looking phone grip featuring the Joyful Wyvern, the Royal Fleet’s mascot, saying WE GOT YOUR BACK. Plus if you order by Monday night, you can submit your receipt to Tor Teen and get the enamel pin and the art prints. RSVP here.

The following Tuesday, April 20 at 6 PM CT/4 PM PT, I’m doing an event at the wonderful Tubby & Coo’s bookstore, where I’ll be in conversation with the amazing Felicia Day. You must buy a copy of the book to attend this event, but otherwise the same stuff applies as with the Books Inc. event: you’ll get the beautiful phone grip, and if you order your ticket by Monday night, you can also get the pin and the art prints. RSVP here.

The next day, Weds April 21 at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT, I’ll be doing a virtual event with Mysterious Galaxy Books, also featuring the wonderful Elly Bangs promoting her brand new book Unity. Registration is free, but please do support Mysterious Galaxy. (And once again, free phone grip!!!!) RSVP here.

On Saturday April 24 at noon ET/9 AM PT, I’ll be on a panel at YALLWEST with Asha Bromfield, Marie Lu, Karen McManus, Lewis Peterson and moderator Margaret Stohl. Registration is totally free! RSVP here.

On Sunday April 25 at 3:45 ET/12:45 PT, I’ll be at the Newburyport Literary Festival talking about Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy 2020, with John Joseph Adams, Rebecca Roanhorse, Deji Bryce Olakotun and moderator Chris Cevasco. RSVP here.

I hope to see y’all at some of these events. It’s been too long, I miss your faces (even just in boxes on a screen!)

Recent articles:

While I’m sharing stuff, I’ve published a ton of articles lately!

For the Washington Post, I wrote about how superheroes can help us to imagine collaborating in spite of our differences. The artwork is amazing!

In Teen Vogue, I wrote about the ways that people try to police trans rage.

For io9, I wrote in defense of high stakes in storytelling—because it’s okay to save the world sometimes.

I was featured on NPR’s TED Radio Hour, talking about how science fiction can help us imagine better futures.

More podcasts! I guest-hosted on Dear Hank and John, giving extremely dubious advice. I was also on Feminist Frequency, and we did a lovely extra segment talking about my writing and stuff. And I also talked about writing on the Page One Podcast.

It’s been a hectic but fun time lately! More articles and podcasts are coming very soon, and you’ll see all that stuff on my Twitter.

Thank you so much for supporting me and my work — I cannot wait for y’all to read Victories Greater Than Death, and I hope we can geek out together at one of the above shindigs. <3